Find
Notify
Tools

Cleaning Media Dust off of Tumbled Cases
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Friends-

I have been handloading since 1979. To date it has been rifle only and cleaning media dust off of tumbled cases was as easy as using a dish towel dampened with alcohol to clean individual cases.

But, I have just received the motivation to handload my .45 ACP ammo. Here's my question. Wiping off rifle cases one at a time is one thing, but .45 ACP cases are a whole different matter. Call me lazy, but there has got to be a better way of getting media dust off of pistol brass.

What's the standard operating procedure, if there is one?

Thanks in advance.

May the wind be in your face and the sun at your back.

P. Mark Stark

Posts: 1323 | Location: San Antonio, Texas | Registered: 04 March 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
After shaking the media out thru the strainer I just blow whatever might be left off with compressed air.

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
Good advice

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
If you add a tablespoon or so of mineral spirits or naphtha (charcoal lighter fluid) to the media and run the tumbler a minute or so before adding the cases, you should have no trouble with dust.

Posts: 4748 | Location: TX | Registered: 01 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
ConfusedI've really had no trouble with dust. I tumble with strips of fabric softener sheets , Tumble outside with the top off, and always clean my dump bucket and tumbler after each use. The fabric softener seems to collect what dust isn't blown away. At least I never recognized that I had a problem. beerroger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..