Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Starting Loads
 Login/Join

posted
Hi, I'm a beginner at reloading and need some advice on getting a load developed for my .243 where do I start

Posts: 3 | Location: uk | Registered: 31 December 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The first place to start is with a good manual. I have several and for the beginner I think the Lyman 48 would be a good choice. Start at the beginning and read everything about the reloading process. Then after you have read everything the manual has to offer, read it again. Then go to the load data section and look up actual loading data. There really isn't any other safe way to do this, read first, load second.

Posts: 1205 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 07 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Then, after you do what steve4102 suggested, I'd start with the most "accurate" load and powder listed in the Sierra loading manual. I generally do this when I work with a chambering I'm not familiar with and be as consistant as you reasonably can from cartridge to cartridge. One other comment - I wouldn't start a load BELOW the listed minimum in the book either. Have fun and welcome to the real world of aggrivation & frustration.
Bear in Fairbanks

Unless you're the lead dog, the scenery never changes.

I never thought that I'd live to see a President worse than Jimmy Carter. Well, I have.

Gun control means using two hands.

Posts: 1544 | Location: Fairbanks, Ak., USA | Registered: 16 March 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I have measured the distance to the lands, and have read that if you back off 15 - 20 thou you should have the correct jump, however if I measure the distance to the lands, back off bit the bullet is not seated deep enough to be held by the case!
What seating length should I aim for, is this a common problem with .243s (remmington 700, 55 grain Nosler Ballistic Silvertip bullets)
Thanks in advance.

one of us
posted Hide Post