New
Find
Notify
Tools

.480 Ruger data ??
 Login/Join

<Red Mule>
posted
Just picked up a .480 Ruger in a Super Red Hawk and I am in need of any loading data. I am new to both this forum and computers so be patient with me.
Thanks in adavance. RM

Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
American Handgunner has an article by John Taffin that is pretty thorough, and I'd recomend picking it up. The only bullets I've shot so far are a 310 gr LFN and a 390 gr LFN I've been casting. The 310 has been shooting great out of my buddies 480 w/ 19-20 gr 2400, and from mine, 19.5 does the trick. With this load the 7 1/2" guns do 1100 fps, and my buddy w/ scope is shooting 1 1/2" at 50 yds.

I haven't dialed the 390 in, but would suggest 17-18 gr 2400 for 1100-1200 fps, or 21.0 gr H110 +- .5 gr.

I just got my 480 two weeks ago, and have only been to the range twice with it. I also have a lee .490" round ball mold, and will try and work up some loads with it.

I can't help with jacketed loads, as I plan to only shoot cast, but Taffin's article has plenty of data for them. Also, check out Hodgdon's web site, there is data for cast and jacketed.

I'm sure you'll like the 480, I'm very pleased with mine.

Posts: 7213 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Paul...maybe you could tell Dennis to give this guy some loading data. Although, I've seen the load data by John Taffin and it's EXTENSIVE!

Posts: 4168 | Location: Texas | Registered: 18 June 2001Reply With Quote
<JoeM>
posted
Hello,
Try www.hodgdon.com

------------------
Safety & Ethics,Accuracy, Velocity, Energy
Joe M

Picture of Paul H
posted Hide Post
Yukon,

Looks like I'll be out after moose when you come up and visit, though we might not head out til the following week.

Dennis has used Lil Gun w/ the 390's, and data for that can be had off the Hodgdon sight, they clock 1150 from my gun and 1200 from his, both 7 1/2" SRH's, I don't recall the charge weight.