New
Find
Notify
Tools

Loads for .41 Mag
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I just bought a Taurus Tracker in .41 Mag. The owners manual states loads for a 210 grain bullet should not excede 1300 fps.
Wouldn't any load that stays under a certain pressure be safe? I am finding loads that stay within the pressure listed for other 1300 fps loads that have more velocity.
I am very new at loading handgun amo and need some guidence.

Posts: 622 | Location: PA. U.S.A. | Registered: 12 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Jacobite:
I just bought a Taurus Tracker in .41 Mag. The owners manual states loads for a 210 grain bullet should not excede 1300 fps.
Wouldn't any load that stays under a certain pressure be safe? I am finding loads that stay within the pressure listed for other 1300 fps loads that have more velocity.
I am very new at loading handgun amo and need some guidence.

Yes you are right it is the pressure that you have to monitor but without special equipment we have to use weight and speed as "ballpark" for the loads pressure.....I had good luck with 2400 at 16.0 grains with hard lead 210 in my 57 smith and this is under max a grain or so and is a decent deer load......or similar.....if you stay with quality manuals and the same type bullets/weight and lead or jacketed you should be fine....there is a little give and take between some loads and the pressure that will be produced in your gun due to cly tightness and throat/bore specs.....I haven't used tarusus revolvers but had several 57 and a 58Smith.......good caliber that responds to a good simple load.....enjoy...good luck and good shooting!!!!

Posts: 687 | Location: Jackson/Tenn/Madison | Registered: 07 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
My favorite load for the 41 mag for hunting purposes is 21 grains of H110 under the Beartooth Bullets 250 or 265 grain WFN.