New
Find
Notify
Tools

338 rum loads and problems
 Login/Join

<cougarhunting>
posted
I have been shooting reloader 22 and 25 with federal 215 magnum primers and 215 sierra bullets .
with 90 grains of powder my primers are starting to flatten a bit and there is a shiny mark on my case head from the ejector pin. I have found several loads of people shooting up to a 100 grains of reloader 22 and I cant even come close to that . I have shot up to 102 grains and the symptoms got slightly worse on the last load. Now I am Very new at reloading for these high velocitys and large powder capacitys so I have a few questions I would appreciate some help with from our more experienced riflemen. 1) how serious are these pressure signs even at lighter loads like 85 gr of reloader 22 there is a shiny mark from the ejector pin. 2) The reason I bought my remington 700lss left hand bolt is because of the data I found all over the internet of 3200-3450 fps with 200 to 210 grain bullets which in my mind equals fast flat and hard hitting. Now are these speeds actually achievable or was I a sucker for believing this or maybe there is a problem with my gun. I should also add that the rifle does shoot well my best grouping was .512" with 95 grains of reloader 22. But at best I am basically achieving the velocitys of the 340 wby. but using more powder to get them. should I be trying different powders or primers or possibly different bullets any help would be appreciated.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Trevor,

quote:
I have been shooting reloader 22 and 25 with federal 215 magnum primers and 215 sierra bullets .
with 90 grains of powder my primers are starting to flatten a bit and there is a shiny mark on my case head from the ejector pin. I have found several loads of people shooting up to a 100 grains of reloader 22 and I cant even come close to that . I have shot up to 102 grains and the symptoms got slightly worse on the last load.