New
Find
Notify
Tools

Overall Loaded Bullet Weight
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hey guys, im new to handloading. After completely loading 5 rounds of 22-250, i weighed each individual round. 4 rounds were close to the same overall weight, while 1 round was lighter. Why is this?

Speak softly and carry a big stick, and you will go far. -- Teddy Roosevelt

Posts: 108 | Location: Panhandle of Texas | Registered: 20 July 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
If it's not the bullet, it's either the case or the powder charge.

Pull the bullet and find out which.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
How much lighter?

One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
I will say with 99.9% certanty that it is the variation a case to case weight not bullet/powder.

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
What weights do you consider close?
It could be the bullet, case, powder… who knows…
The brass weight varies greatly even if taken from one set of 20 Factory loaded cartridges. The bullets also vary quite a bit…
Unless you weigh all the components you are hard pressed to figure it out
I’m one of the crazies who weigh bullets (and separate into batches of exact weights) and cases (separate into batches of +/- .5 grs) before priming (and weigh again after priming) and weigh each charge.
I add up the all the individual weights and get an estimated cartridge weight… then I weigh the completed cartridge which should be within +/- .3 grains of my estimated weight range.

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by temmi:
What weights do you consider close?
It could be the bullet, case, powder… who knows…
The brass weight varies greatly even if taken from one set of 20 Factory loaded cartridges. The bullets also vary quite a bit…
Unless you weigh all the components you are hard pressed to figure it out