Find
Notify
Tools

Re: nosler ballistic tips for deer hunting
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Quote:

and then ask yourself, when you are looking at a raking or a texas heart shot... do you REALLY want to shoot a varmit bullet into big game

I don't take texas heart shots and the bullets that I use to hunt big game are labelled by Nosler as hunting bullets not varmint bullets.You want to quote the nosler manual when it favors you yet ignore it when it doesn't as when nosler calls the ballistic tip a big game bullet.

Why do scots wear kilts? because sheep can hear zippers

Posts: 3104 | Location: alberta,canada | Registered: 28 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Wow 5 pages for an answer to a simple question. Lets see the question was does anyone have experience using 150 gr. Ballistic tips on deer and wild hogs.

My answer is NO. But I have lots of experience using 125, 165, and 180 grain BT's on PA. white tail and groundhogs. Most experience is with 165 grainers out of a 300 Win. mag. Plan out flattens deer. I have only recovered one bullet from all the deer I have shot and that one was from a deer shot at about 350 yards. The bullet entered the neck behind the ear with the deer quartering towards me. I found the jacket attached to the hide behind the far front shoulder. The core passed clear through. This deer dropped in it's tracks. The insides were turned to jello and the only meat ruined was the neck roast. No bullet failure in my opinion.
Even shooting targets as small as groundhogs the bullet ripped them apart. I find it amazing how a bullet can explode a grondhog yet hold together enough to get exits on every deer I have shot with them.