Find
Notify
Tools

A Good Chronograph
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of 300H&H
posted
I have been reloading for about 2 years and am well overdue for a chrony. What do you think would be the best chronograph for the beginner, as far as easy to use and dependable.
Any recommendations are appreciated.
Thanks,
Mark.

Posts: 672 | Location: St. Paul MN | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I bought a CED from Dillon. Nice large readout, easy to use and set up. Also has an infrared option which comes in handy in bad light situations when you just have to have a velocity reading. Also, all the electronics sit with you on the bench so when you shoot a sensor (and you will eventually!) you only need to replace a $25 sensor unit.

------------------
RC

Posts: 1147 | Location: Ohio USA | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I also bucked the Oehler trend and bought a CED. It comes with a cable to download a whole range session of results to your PC. It has separate buttons for all functions (no scrolling and double button pushing like with my old PACT1). Also, not to be overlooked is the low battery indicator. When I would get weird readings on my PACT I always worried it was the battery, and probably wasted a bunch of 9V batteries just to eliminate that varialbe.

I bought mine at:

http://www.shootingsoftware.com/chronographs.htm

Roger

Posts: 648 | Location: Huskerville | Registered: 22 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of 300H&H
posted Hide Post
Thanks for your replies. I have looked around a bit, but have never seen one of these. It looks like a really nice set up for the price.
Mark

Posts: 672 | Location: St. Paul MN | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
<Don Martin29>
posted
I have a Pact. It works well. Before that I had a Accuchron from 1960's and before that I made my own ballistic pendulum.

one of us
posted Hide Post