THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Is the GMX similar to TTSX, likes the jump to lands?

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Is the GMX similar to TTSX, likes the jump to lands?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
If the GMX is similar to the TTSX and likes the jump to lands I will try those first on a new load.
Anyone have experience with this?

"I will not raise taxes on those making more than 250k"

one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
First I have not used the GMX bullet.

Does the TTSX shoot better with a jump? Or is the jump needed to keep pressure under control? I always "thought" it was for the pressure.

Looking at the Hornady site they reference normal loading data (for what that is worth)

What was the question??? Wink As I said I have no experience with the GMX but my norm is to use a larger jump with the Mono style bullet. coffee

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of rnovi
posted Hide Post
I can say the Nosler ETip definitely likes a jump too the lands. I load .05-.08" short oal.

Regards,

Robert

H4350! It stays crunchy in milk longer!

Posts: 2319 | Location: Greater Nashville, TN | Registered: 23 June 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Pressure to lands distance may be an issue for the mono bullets, not sure. I figure all the mono bullets can be accurate with a jump to lands compared to some of the lead VLDs where distance to lands is more critical. I have a keen interest in trying the 100 gr GMX in my .270 Win.but don't want to mess with a tempermental lands distance like the VLD need, I think the Barnes are known to be otherwise based upon my reading.

"I will not raise taxes on those making more than 250k"

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Michael: