Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

? for Co-ax users
 Login/Join

posted
I just received my new Co-ax press along with a lot of other reloading equipment, since this is my first attempt at reloading I have a question on the operation of the press not covered in the manual or on Forster's website. I am reloading for a Browning Mk II safari .30-06 auto and was highly encouraged by forum members to get the RCBS small base dies for that gun. I have the dies setup and after checking the completed rounds on my Forster case/bullet runout gauge they are absolutely beautiful (far less than .001 runout at the bullet [Smile] ), but the problem is that every time I bring the handle to the uppermost position, the top of the die (both the sizer and seater dies) catches on the primer block itself and it takes some wiggling of the die and handle to get the die to clear the block and then the outer edge of the die still rubs against the block as I finish returning the handle to the stop position. The press itself is a work of art and is beautifully engineered and I have read and researched extensively to try to solve this problem (more like a major pain in the rear) to no avail. As I stated earlier I am a total newbie and appreciate any feedback from experienced Co-ax users.

Reagrds,
Damn Yankee

Posts: 21 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 26 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Damn Yankee, please refer to the "parts for Bonanza co-ao loading press"(p.12, I believe) for a more accurate description. I can find no reference to a "primer block" on the description page.

Does the die "wobble" when installed in the press? Are you using the cross-bolt locking rings, or the rings that came with the dies? Will they(the cross-bolt rings)fit S/B dies? Locking rings should measure 1-3/8"X.3125, and are intended for 7/8"X14 dies.

Posts: 594 | Location: MT. | Registered: 05 June 2003Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
packrat,