THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    The 416 Remington Mag. & IMR-4166: An Unsatisfying Experience

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The 416 Remington Mag. & IMR-4166: An Unsatisfying Experience
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Clayman
posted
I’ve been developing some loads for a 2022 buffalo hunt using my 416 Remington Mag. The bullets of choice in this case are 400gr. Nosler Partitions and Barnes FN Banded Solids. I also loaded the old style 400gr. Hornady FMJ as a practice load. Being a little light on stock of the medium burn rate powders at the time, and with the spotty availability of RE-15/Varget/4064, I decided to give one of the IMR Enduron powders a try – IMR-4166. This is their Enduron entry in the medium burn rate category, and they list data for it on their website. Seemed reasonable to try. They list a max load for the 400gr. Bullets at 75.6gr. In the interests of safe pressure, case life, and simply not wanting to push the envelope, I went from 73.5gr. to 75.5gr in .5gr. increments with each bullet tested. Powder charges went from not compressed to very lightly compressed.