New
Find
Notify
Tools

Colt M4 Reloads
 Login/Join

posted
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the forums and have a few questions, maybe ya'll can answer them.

Let me start by telling you that I have a Colt M4 Carbine witha 16.1" barrel and a 1/7" twist, open sights; and I'm not having too much luck with it.

What are some good loads for this gun? I use it for varmints, deer, and just plinking. I don't really have a whole lot of reloading material as I am just getting started. I currently have the following powders: IMR 4064, IMR 3031, and Hodgdon's H335; and the following bullets: 55gr FMJBT (both pointed and rounded nose) and 70gr Semi-Spitzer SP. I have used 40gr VMAX, but used them all and may order some more. What are good loads for these materials? Also post other loads if you want, and make some suggestions on what bullets and powders I might need.

Hope you can help. Thanks in advance.

BrandonKappel

Posts: 9 | Location: Texas | Registered: 25 November 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
First off,
Welcome to AR. You will find a lot of strong opinions here. No and then you may even get a useful answer to a question.

Buy a box of longer bullets. Try some 68 grain Hornady or 69 grain Sierra HPBT bullets over 23.0 grains of H 335. Get a Lee factory crimp die. Those are pretty cheap, and often help AR accuracy.

The most popular powders for the 5.56/.223 are Varget, RL-15, VV N140 and TAC. Competitors will use one of those four powders over 90% of the time.

The Tech Line at Sierra will give you some good loads to try with their bullets.

There are two main ways to increase the accuracy of an AR: Put in a better trigger and float the barrel. All the competitors and serrious varmint shooters do both. You can get away with not floating the barrel if you don't use much sling pressure to help steady the barrel. Even with heavy profile barrels you can change the point of impact of bullets by almost six inches with variable sling tension.