New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which brand of powder is the best?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
O.K. Which powder is the best. Please add why. I've been loading roll your own's for about ten years, but never used any other then Hodg. Alliant, and I.M.R. I know that different firearms like different powder, even with two of the same model. My question is which seems in your point of veiw to be the best all around.

Posts: 255 | Location: Left coast, Right mind! | Registered: 16 July 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Sorry, I was suppst to add that I find Hodgdon to be the best that I've used as of yet.

Posts: 255 | Location: Left coast, Right mind! | Registered: 16 July 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I use hodgdon,I get good results with it.Brand of the best;all of them are suitable,getting fine accuracy with one,why trying another one...

Posts: 439 | Location: Quebec Canada | Registered: 27 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
Ain't no such animal!

It depends on your usage, and you have to remember that one manufacturer may make the same powder for several distributors.

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
If at all possible, I would nominate the Vihtavuori brand of powders - clean-burning, accurate and.... available here!

one of us
posted Hide Post
Sort of a reverse answer: Nobody that I know of makes bad powder. Some may be a little better than others in particular applications.

Posts: 2281 | Location: Layton, UT USA | Registered: 09 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
no such thing as a best brand.

Favorite overall is different story.

I like Hodgdon and Reloader powders equally.

I also have many excellent loads with IMR and VV, and ACCURATE.

I tend to get the most consistent accuracy time and time again with Reloader powders with Hodgdon right behind.

one of us
posted Hide Post