New
Find
Notify
Tools

Accuracy and efficiency question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am a beginner at this and getting ready to buy some stuff. My main purpose is to be able to dial in some really accurate hunting loads for hunting with my 7-08 and lots of accurate pistol rounds as well, I do hope to own a long action magnum round as well some day. Am I destined to multiple presses for this a progressive for the many pistol rounds and a single stage for the really accurate loading. Or can one of the progressives do it all, quantity, extreme accuracy from pistol to long action magnum?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
as a beginner what you don't need is to go out and buy a progressive. yes they can do stuff, but get some experience under your belt 1st. you can load your pistol rounds one at a time too. eventually if you keep reloading you'll end up with a whole bunch of things to clutter up your reloading bench

Posts: 13461 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
quote:
yes they can do stuff, but get some experience under your belt 1st. you can load your pistol rounds one at a time too.

+1 I would not use a progrssive for accurate rifle ammo. I've loaded pistol rounds for over 35 years with a single stage press. With a hand auto primer and then sticking the brass in a tray and using a powder thrower you can still load a lot of pistol ammo in a hurry.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by m_walker:
...My main purpose is to be able to dial in some really accurate hunting loads for hunting with my 7-08 and lots of accurate pistol rounds as well, ...
+2 on the above advice.