Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

seating bullets
 Login/Join

posted
I'm pretty new to reloading. Right now I'm reloading 300 win mags. I'm using winchester cases and sierra 180gr. game kings. For some reason when I go to seat the bullet every one comes out a little different in overall length. The max oal is 3.340, and I'll set it so the first one is right on that, and then the next one will be anywhere from around 3.335 to around 3.345. Each time I put a round in I have to adjust the seater adjustment screw so that its around 3.340, but when they come out less than that I have to just leave it so my final overal lengths end up ranging from 3.335 to 3.340. I've tightened the ring right below the adjustment screw so that the seater adjustment screw can't move, and I've watched it and it doesn't move, but they still come out different. If anyone can help me because as you can see I have no clue what is going on. I loaded 40 rounds like this and I'm gonna go shoot them the next chance I get, although that could be anywhere from this weekend to a month from now.

Thanks in advance
Andy

one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
You are probably measuring to the tip of the bullet. That's a no-no.

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Where should I measure to then? I know the bullets arent all exactly the same length, but there is more than a thousandth or two difference between the overall length and the differnce in length between the bullets was only a thousandth or two.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Get a comparator (sp?) Russ Hayson's Shooter's Supply 253-857-7557.

Russ sells a comparator that fits the popular calibers up to and including 30 Cal.

The only easy day is yesterday!

Posts: 2758 | Location: Northern Minnesota | Registered: 22 September 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Andy2590:
Where should I measure to then? ...