New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading for the .356 Winchester
 Login/Join

<Smoky>
posted
Help! I just bought a .356 Winchester based upon a number of very strong recommendations but I know very little about this caliber. I want to use this gun for deer and elk. What do I need to know to reload for it? Specifically...
1. What bullets are best for hunting, especially elk, and where can I get them?
2. What differentiates .358" diameter rifle bullets from handgun bullets?
3. Will handgun bullets work for this caliber?
4. I've seen .358" diameter bullets listed as both 35 caliber and 38 caliber? Why the difference? Does 38 caliber refer to handgun bullets and 35 to rifle bullets?
5. What do I need to know about bullet length to safely load for this caliber?

To make matters worse (or better!), I'm brand new to handloading. Any and all advice is welcome as hunting season is fast approaching. Thanks, in advance, for your help folks!

<toto>
posted
Smokey, I load 49.5gr. wc846/blc2 behind 220 speer and wlr primer for an average vel. 2408ft. per sec. This is in a Win.94ae. 20" barrel, oal 2.568. Remember to start a couple of grains lower and work up. This is not the hottest ive loaded but the most accurate. Hope this helps. fws

<PaulS>
posted
Smoky,
to answer your questions as asked:
1. Speer 180 grain or higher are good bullets for the 356, 35 Rem and 358 Win. Get them from Speer at any reloading supplier.

2. Rifle bullets are .358 inch diameter and pistol bullets are .357 inch diameter. Pistol bullets have a lighter jacket that can come apart at rifle velocities and the core lead can be of harder alloy.

3. handgun bullets sometimes shoot well in rifles but they are not the best choice for hunting large game.

4. yes and no... rifle bullets are usually refered to as 35 caliber but some older cartridges are called 38. the only way to tell for sure is to measure the bore or know the caliber.