Find
Notify
Tools

Why not crimp unless into a cannelure?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am fairly new at this...

I just can't figure out why it would make a difference if the case mouth lines up exactly with a cannelure or not. Is the reason one of safety, or accuracy?

Thanks,
Todd

Posts: 1248 | Location: North Carolina | Registered: 14 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of claybuster
posted Hide Post
It depends on the application,,,If you're shooting hot pistol loads,It helps keep the remaining bullets seated.Winchester highly reccomends it when using 296 in magnum loads.Some people reccomend when loading for auto's so the bullet has less of a chance to be pushed bach into the case when the action is cycled.I prefer a taper crimp vs. a roll crimp for all my loads.As far as the cannulre, I use it for my revolver loads,but not nescessarily for my rifles [Big Grin]

Posts: 2119 | Location: woodbine,md,U.S.A | Registered: 14 January 2002Reply With Quote
<eldeguello>
posted
If you are using lead bullets, you can crimp just about anywhere you please. If you are using jacketed bullets, you will buckle your cases if you try to crimp anywhere except in a crimping groove on the bullet!! The bullet jacket is too tough to allow a crimp to be put just anywhere, and your case mouth has no place toi go!! Ruined case!!

<eldeguello>
posted
Also, NEVER crimp unless you have to. Only revolver loads, and loads that are to be used in tubular magazines, or HEAVY-RECOILING calibers (.416 Rigby up) need to be routinely crimped.

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by eldeguello:
Also, NEVER crimp unless you have to. Only revolver loads, and loads that are to be used in tubular magazines, or HEAVY-RECOILING calibers (.416 Rigby up) need to be routinely crimped.

eldeguello, why don't you recommend crimping?

Posts: 115 | Location: Maine USA | Registered: 26 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post