Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Am I messing up my 9mm reloads
 Login/Join

posted
Hello. I am attempting my first batch of 9mm Luger reloads. I'm loading 125 Jacketed hollow points and using 4.5 grains of Unique which is the Lyman reloading Guide's recommended amount on powder. The trouble (?) is coming with the OAL from the RCBS seating die. The loads look beautiful and the flare is completely gone. Lyman, however, says they should be 1.075" in OAL and the seating die varies by 2 thousands or so either side of 1.075". Is going over or under a problem for these? I want to fire them in a Glock, but I don't know how fickle they are as I just started shooting pistol. Also, I'm wondering if Lyman's suggestion on OAL is a bit short as I'm seeing many people talk about them in the 1.15 range. Thanks.
Joe

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Going under the OAL, which means you're seating the bullet deeper, will increase the pressue because it decreases the volume the powder is working in. The 9mm is touchy for this because that space is small to begin with. I would stick with what the manual suggests. The seating die should be very flexible on how much it can seat a bullet. It it's not you may not have the correct seating plug for the nose profile of the bullet you are using, but I really don't see that happening.

one of us
posted Hide Post
+/- .002 (1.073 to 1.077 OAL) dosen't mean shit, as you have more variation (seater contact point to nose) than that between bullets from the same box. Also consider that your total variation is less than the width of a human hair.
Buy a couple boxes of factory ammo and measure the OAL on them. That will give you something to consider on the variation in your handloads.

Now, if you were talking about a variation of +/- .030, than I'd agree with "SmokinJ" that you have a reason to worry.