New
Find
Notify
Tools

help - bullet seating depth
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm new to reloading and loving it so far. I loaded up my first rifle rounds the other night. I loaded 30 rounds of 30-06, 10 each with 41.0, 43.6, and 46.3 gr of varget (51.0 gr listed max) with winchester bullets and new winchester brass. I read that best accuracy is achieved if the bullet is sitting just off the lands. I read a previous post that said the best way to do this is to use a dumby round with the bullet seated very shallowly and slowly increase the depth until the round will chamber. Then turn the seating adjustment another half turn so that the bullet is just of the lands. I was planning on doing this, but following this procedure I ended up with an OAL of just over 3.5 and the published max OAL is 3.340. I didn't know what to do so I seated the bullet to the max OAL since I figured this would be safer since I am very inexperienced in this area. Am I doing something wrong?

My other concern is does this mean my barrel has some serious throat erosion. It is an old gun (Rem 700 ADL? from the 70s?) that I bought from a friend at college for $375. It shoots factory ammo alright (~3.5 in groups at 100 yds no bench). He said it was used only for hunting, so I wouldn't expect the barrel to be worn out, but I don't really know.

Any advice would be appreciated
Carl

Posts: 153 | Location: Ann Arbor MI USA | Registered: 30 May 2003Reply With Quote
<Savage 99>
posted
Some bullets have different ogives and will not come close to the lands when set to the standard COL. The Hornady 139 gr 7mm SST is one. Your throat is most likely ok.

You must seat the bullets deep enough so that they will go into the magazine and feed out well. In some rifles this is more than the standard length and there must be some that are less also.

one of us
posted Hide Post