New
Find
Notify
Tools

Woodleigh Hydro 300gr. for 375H&H
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I bought some 300 gr. Hydro solids to use in my 375H&H on an elephant hunt. Could not get them to seat deep enough to even close the bolt. I tried 76 gr. of H4350 as recommended by Woodleigh. I didn't have enough time to play with it before I left so I used the Woodleigh 300 gr. solids I have used before. Ele went down tail first head up then some insurance shots. One of the insurance shots hit the spine and was recovered. It broke the vertebrate but deflected down the spine and was badly deformed.

I want to go to the Hydro if I can get it to load. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Administrator
posted Hide Post
I have had no experience with this bullet.

But, the reason I developed the 375/404 was because I was never able to get any decent velocities from several 375H&H rifles.

However, if your loads are too long because of the powder charge, why not try other powders?

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 68617 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Bren7X64
posted Hide Post
I would definitely use a different powder. I have had no joy with H4350 in a 375 H&H.

With a start load of 77gr behind a 300gr Hornady BT w/ Remington cases (I was shooting paper). I had to compress the load to such an extent that the seater die was causing a ring in the jacket of the bullet just behind the exposed lead.

Let me look in my Woodleigh reloading manual for you (don't go away) Smiler

Sorry, they only suggest the use of the Hydro in the 378 Wby. There are no specific loads for it, though.

I have a few thoughts on the use of H4895, but I'd rather not suggest them. No idea who is reading and who may injure themselves.

--
Promise me, when I die, don't let my wife sell my guns for what I told I her I paid for them.

Posts: 1048 | Location: Canberra, Australia | Registered: 03 August 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us