New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which Reloading Manuals?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
As you may guess by all the threads I've posted, I'm getting back into reloading after a 4 year hiatus. I left all my equipment and manuals with my college roomate when I graduated. What are the best manuals these days?

I'll get the A-Square manual, because it has so many of the big bore cartridges. I'll probably also get the Nosler manual, since I shoot Partitions in all my rifles.

Any others? Any comments?

Posts: 898 | Location: Southlake, Tx | Registered: 30 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I think the absolute best is the sierra manual. It has data for more cartridges, and it has quite a few more powders for each cartridge than the other manuals. Plus, like the nosler manual, it lists the "accuracy" load for the rifle (action/barrel) they tested, and I have always found this a good starting point.

Posts: 395 | Location: Tremonton, UT | Registered: 20 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Swede44mag
posted Hide Post
Nosler, Sierra, Hornady, Hodgdon etc� I use all of them and cross reference load data. Some loading Manuals are more conservative with max loads while other Manuals will list more powder for the same max load. You can also check powder and bullet Manufacture web sites for current updated bullet and powder data.

Posts: 1608 | Location: Central, Kansas | Registered: 15 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have a pretty good stack of them. I like the Lyman 48th the best, it has loads for a lot of different brands of powder and bullets, including cast. The Hornady two volume manual has lots of ballistic tables that are very usefull, but the charges they list for the velocitys in the reloading data sections are IMHO way off.

Posts: 97 | Location: Northern Lower Mich | Registered: 01 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post