New
Find
Notify
Tools

Seeking 223Rem loads for accuracy
 Login/Join

Picture of Specter65
posted
I'm new to reloading and am just now learning the basics. I shoot two different Savage rifles with 1:9 twist and want to develope some decent target loads for 200yds and out. I've shot a bunch of Black Hills 60gr VMAX and 69gr MHP with groups often .5" or less and would love to recreate these loads.

I have some 69gr Sierra MHP and some 75gr AMAX bullets I intend to load this weekend using some Varget powder. I wanted to also get some N-140 and some H-335 powders but the local store will have to order those.

I'd love to hear from anyone else using this combination of bullet and powder with a 9" barrel twist.

-----------------------------------------
Theology is a way for people to explain that which they don't know. Science is a way for people to say "I don't know this.... Let's figure it out!"

Posts: 15 | Location: Georgia | Registered: 23 August 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of hm1996
posted Hide Post
While not the bullet you wish to use, my FP10 really likes 55 gr. Nos. BT in front of 25.6 gr. H335 in WW case, CCI SR primers. So far best group was .21" (only 3 shot) w/3300 fps vel. This load is a bit warm in my rifle, stretching primer pockets on third or fourth round, so start low & work up. Shoots minute of coyote out to 300 yards, too. Smiler

Sierra 53 gr. MK's w/same load did not work, produced 1 1/4" group but did not experiment w/seating depth; could have been the problem with this bullet.

Regards,
hm

2 Chronicles 7:14:
If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

Posts: 931 | Registered: 21 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post