Find
Notify
Tools

Re: chronograph accuracy...
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of TCLouis
posted
Blue Dot loads are the ONLY loads that I have ever shot that exceeded or even met the velocities published in manuals. I think that is why one sees a reduction in performance in a lot of modern manuals. Hard to give out data when so many folks out there can cehck it whenever they want to.
That said I think we all (YES that includes me) strive for the extra 100-200 fps that is relatively unimportant in the overall scheme of things!

Posts: 4244 | Location: TN USA | Registered: 17 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I am not a pro but I trust my chronograph more than I trust loading manuals. Every gun is different and what is maximum in one may not be warm in another. Some times my loads are very close to book loads and other times are in another time zone. Lately I've been working on a 165 grain bullet load for my .308 Remington 7 rifle using IMR4064 powder. I consulted several manuals for a starting point and began my loads with 42.5 grains. The one manual said I should get around 2600 fps from that charge. My chrony averaged 2280. I did work up loads that got to 2700 fps with out excessive pressure signs but the charges barely fit in the case and exceed anything published by a full 3 grains. But theses are only safe in _my_ rifle and of course I will use a lighter charge with better accuracy for a hunting load. In another case, pressure sign and velocity showed my maximum to be more than 10% below published data. I believe the chronograph is a wonder tool for getting the most out of your guns. I don't think I'll ever develop another load without it.

Posts: 338 | Location: Johnsburg, Illinois | Registered: 15 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post