THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bending the Neck - Redding Competition Dies?!
 Login/Join

posted
So, while I am somewhat new to reloading, I brought over a sage today to help me tackle a problem that's driving me up a wall... and now him as well.

I'm using the Redding competition 3 die set for .338 Lapua Magnum and my issue has to do with the de-priming and sizing stage.

Basically no matter what we try, once we go to de-prime, the brass gets slightly smashed at it's neck. Unless we shave the brass down past 2.706 inches.

I'm new to reloading .338 Lapua, so I can't say for sure if shaving the brass down that far is actually a problem. I can say that the factory loads I have on hand to reference aren't shaved that far. They sit at 2.716" before they're shot.

I have a brand new Redding Big Boss II.

I do not have this issue with my same set of competition die for 308, not by a long shot. I can pop primers out of that sucker all day long with no issues. It seems FAR more forgiving at this stage.

My question comes in two parts... does anyone have any experience with what I am talking about?

The second, if anyone could tell me what length their lapua brass is being shaved to, perhaps that could help. Maybe the Hornady ammo I am referencing is just strange.

I did order new Lapua brass to see what length those come in at.

I've attached a photo to help explain the problem.

We've tried seating the die every which way to Sunday, and this has been the result on 7 brass so far.

To answer the question, yes I start with the knobs backed all the way out and I slooooowly work them in until the primer is punched out.

Once I get that length set on any one brass, it definitely doesn't work on another unless that brass has been shaved low enough.

One of Us
posted Hide Post