Find
Notify
Tools

Heavy Lead Bullets for .375 Weatherby ?
 Login/Join

<Hunting Max>
posted
Hi Folks,

I want to use Lead Bullets heavier than 300grs, probably 350 to 380 grains, if possible with gas checks in my .375 Weatherby for practising and hunting deers/boars at closed range up to 120 yards. Do you know any source for such bullets or does this make no sense ?
If it makes sense, can you recommend a maximum muzzle velocity, because I have no experience with lead bullets?
In the moment I have 350 grainers from Woodleigh, but I think they are to "hard" for this size of game.

Thanks in advance.
Max

-----------------------------
I believe in God and Mauser !

<Don Martin29>
posted
Max,

Your idea will be fun to try I am sure. I only glanced at a old Lyman handbook and they had listed bullet molds up to 330 grains for the .375 caliber. You might want to check the twist on that Weatherby that it's fast enough.

I have cast bullets for the 38-55 and .375 H&H for a long time but my only molds are in the 240 to 265 gr weights. In the .375 H&H and the .375 Improved velocities of over 2000 fps with gas checks are easy with 3031 and a kapox filler. I shot one deer with the Lyman 375296 hollow point and it fell down and stayed there.

A hard cast bullet with a alloy like the linotype that I have that's heavy might be quite effective. I would want a flat point like the Keith SWC.

Sorry but I don't know where to buy the bullets but someone must sell them.

<marrfam>
posted
we make a 312gr .375. We also make a 170gr flat nose gas check and a 220gr roundnose. The 220gr and 312gr are both plain base.  - [URL=http://]

<Hunting Max>
posted
Thanks for the replies,

I will check here in Germany with Johannsen or Haendl&Natermann, whether they have heavy lead bullets for .375.

Which twist is necessary for a bullet (any style) heavier than 300grs in .375. My barrel is a rechambered .375 H&H factory barrel.

<JOHAN>
posted
Hunting Max