New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading used brass
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am just getting started reloading used brass, and I have hundreds of cases of once fired factory brass sitting in the original factory packaging. I have several questions, so here goes: 1. I read somewhere that once fired factory brass is fire formed to my chamber, so there is no need for full length resizing, is this true? 2. If this is true, shouldn't I just be able to resize the case neck? 3.Shouldn't I also just be able to trim the case to length if necessary? 4. My present set up is a RCBS rockchucker single stage press. I have a die that does full length resizing and depriming in one operation. Is it possible to procure tooling that only resizes the case neck, and a separate tool to deprime the case? Also, would you tumble the cases to clean them up before, or after the resizing and depriming?

One of Us
Picture of Rapidrob
posted Hide Post
It depends on your firearm. If it is a semi-auto you should full length re-size or even Small Base if it is a tight chamber.
In a bolt gun you may be able to shoot the reloaded brass a couple of times before you will need to fully re-size the brass. This depends on you loads. A Cast bullet load my never need to be full length re-sized. A full house load will after a number of firings as all brass "grows" when fired to a point.
Trim when necessary,I check all my brass every time before reloading.
Clean brass will save wear in your dies. Brass does not have to shine like a new penny as long as there is no dirt or grime on it.
There are "Collet" dies that only size the neck.Lee makes a Universal De-Capping Die that deprimes any Boxer primer.

Gulf of Tonkin Yacht Club
NRA Endowment Member
President NM MILSURPS

Posts: 448 | Location: Albuquerque | Registered: 28 March 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It is a bolt gun, in this case, a 30/06. I am planning on doing 7mag and 7mm/08, also bolt guns using spitzer type, jacketed bullets.