New
Find
Notify
Tools

priming tools
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
just wore out my 2nd RCBS priming tool and wonder if any of you can suggest an improvement.

Thanks.

jmbn
Old and in the way

Posts: 280 | Location: Lakeview OR | Registered: 02 October 2013Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have worn out several tools.

Just means you are reloading a lot.

Buy another and move on.

Posts: 19583 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
I have been using the RCBS AUTO PRIME tool for so many years, and I am not sure many of you reload as much as us.

Still going strong.

Only thing I ever do is clean the aluminum arm at the bottom that pushes the primer in.

It tends to develop a thin dark film, probably wear.

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 68690 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've used Lee priming tools for decades. I started with the original single load model then switched to the round tray version when it became available. I tried the square tray version but didn't care for it; I've kept my round tray model going by finding used components for it but there is a finite lifespan for plastic.

I'm curious what others are using, if there is something better out there I'm always interested in upgrading my equipment.

"For they have sown the wind, and they shall reap the whirlwind..."
Hosea 8:7

Posts: 579 | Location: Texas | Registered: 07 January 2015Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bill/Oregon
posted Hide Post
Hogfarmer, my old Lee round-tray is so worn the lid just falls off. Can't bring myself to replace this trusted friend...

There is hope, even when your brain tells you there isn’t.
– John Green, author

Posts: 16633 | Location: Sweetwater, TX | Registered: 03 June 2000Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
We have used, and broken, several hand priming tools from different makers.