Find
Notify
Tools

Usng Brasso on cases
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Gatehouse
posted
This was posted on another forum, with no real consensus, so I thought I'd put it to the most opinionated shooting forum on the net! [Big Grin]

There seems to be 3 schools of thought on using Brasso to polsh cases:

1) Brasso can weaken cases and shoudl not be used under any circumstances. If you use Brasso on cases the ammonaia in it will attack your cases, and your cases will fail, probably blowng up your gun, and the sky wll fall on our heads. [Wink]

2) Nothing wrong with using Brasso on cases. I've been doing it for 20 years. I just squirt a little into my media while tumbling, and 'viola' nice shiny casses. I'm going to wear out the case by shooting long before Brasso has a chance to do anythng nasty to it. Too many alarmists reloading these days [Smile]

3) I've never really thought about it..The tumbler usually gets the cases clean enough for me. [Big Grin]

I fall into category #3 [Big Grin]

Posts: 3082 | Location: Pemberton BC Canada | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Zero Drift
posted Hide Post
Gatehouse - #1 is correct. Brasso should not be used on cartridge cases. The stuff is great for doorknobs, very bad for firearms. There are plenty of brass cleaners designed specifically for firearms, Brasso ain't one of them. The best that I have used is Dillon�s Rapid Polish. It is non-ammonia based and works either on a rag or with tumbler media.

[ 06-20-2003, 19:43: Message edited by: Zero Drift ]

Posts: 10780 | Location: Test Tube | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bob338
posted Hide Post