New
Find
Notify
Tools

Difference in reloading books
 Login/Join

<FZY>
posted
I am new to reloading. I was looking to start reloading for the 7mm-08. In looking at the Hodgdon No.27 manual, it lists max charge for the 139 Hornaday SP using H414 as 47gr. The Hornaday 5th edition book lists a max of 49.9gr using the 139gr bullet. Why such a large difference?

one of us
Picture of Dutch
posted Hide Post
Here are some variables that can possibly account for the difference:

different cases (capacity)
Different primers (hot or cold)
Different lot numbers on the powders
Different gun (amount of freebore)
Different AOL

3 grains is not too bad, considering all thgse variables. I just ran into a full 11% spread between listed maximum charges in my Whelen on RL 15. HTH, Dutch.

Posts: 4564 | Location: Idaho Falls, ID, USA | Registered: 21 September 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
FZY - Maybe this is just a personal thing, but I'm not real trusting of reloading books put out by powder companies. I had a friend RUIN a .41 magnum with a load from a Hogdon book a few years back. I'm sure Hogdon's load books are better now, but it forever left a bad taste in my mouth.

On the other hand I've never been led astray by Speer or Sierra books...and others I know swear by the Hornady book.

It's sort of a personal thing, I guess. My recommendation is have more than ONE book and compare each of them every time you load. If one has "suspicious data" for a cartridge, don't trust it. Use your common sense.

Glad to have you among the reloaders. It's a good hobby and adds some extra fun and satisfaction to hunting. [Smile]

Posts: 19677 | Location: New Mexico | Registered: 23 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Modern load books, like "SPeer 12" and "Speer 13" are not as good as old load books like "Speer 7"1966 and "Lyman's 43rd" 1964.

The loads have been lawyered down.