Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

weighing brass
 Login/Join

posted
I'm kind of new to reloading, my father in law and I went in on this whole re loading deal. Well I built the bench with his help in my basement, and he bought all the equipment. Great deal for me I know.

We shoot at Camp Perry at the EIC matches every year, then on wednesday nights locally. We are re-loading for precision as well as cost effectiveness.

We're working up a load right now, so I decided to clean, decap, and primer pocket ream 1,000 pieces of brass. The lake city federal .223 stuff.

I've heard about weighing brass so I decided to try it.

Here's the question:

Out of 100 pieces of brass, ~75 of them fall between 95.1 and 96.1 grains. Most of the brass is a little heavier, some is a little lighter.

I can live with that 1.1 grain window, but what's your opinion.

Is that 1.1 grain window too large, or could I doulbe it and not notice a difference?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
If you wanted to be really anal you could take a sharpie and mark the weight of each case on each one and sort them in order of weight.
Input the data into Excel and graph the data.
Any outliers could be used for fouling shots.
If I really am determined to be anal I would get about 250 cases of the same lot and sort them.
I would probably wind up with a lot of 100 of the heavier cases and a lot of 100 of the lighter cases. Both of these lots would be very uniform. Then I would have 50 cases that are split between the very heaviest and the lighest. I would work up my loads with the heavy brass. The left overs would be used for spares or sold.

A more practical way to deal with it if you are not shooting a serious benchrest rifle is to sort your brass looking for a few really bad ones and use them for foulers.

But finally keep the following in mind.
You expect to use a uniform charge of powder of ±? grains.