New
Find
Notify
Tools

.260 rem Vs. .260 rem imp. Pro/con??
 Login/Join

<heider>
posted
What are the advantages and disadvantages??

one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
I am having a .260AI put together. I'll post results & we'll see. The only real down side is no factory ammo. To any handloader, that's really a none issue. There is also no factory brass, but again, not really a problem. Brass life is supposed to be extended & you may get a bit more vel. & accuracy from the Imp. case.

Posts: 7752 | Location: kalif.,usa | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have read many times that AI'ing many of the more modern cartridges (308 family being one example) is not really worth it. I have no experience either way but it seems that when you read about the Ackley cartridges that show the most improvement, they are the ones that were originally loaded to lower pressures, so when you load them a little hotter they show significant gains. Examples would be the 250 Savage and 257 Roberts. Both are factory loaded to substantially lower pressures than more modern cartrudges, in order to protect the weaker actions they may be chambered in like Savage 99s and Spanish Mausers. Even the 30-06 is loaded to lower pressure than the 308 because of the Early Springfields still around. Sean

Posts: 537 | Location: Vermont | Registered: 04 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Most guys I know who shoot an AI in almost any caliber, that also have a NON AI rifle in the same caliber say that the velocity gain is not really all that great. At least the truthful ones. I do think there can be some acceptions like the 257 Roberts AI, but since the Roberts was so downloaded by the factory, dramatic increase in performance is not real hard.