Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reducing a .22-250 to minimize pelt damage
 Login/Join

posted
New member here from the last frontier of Alaska.

Not only that, but I'm new to the world of reloading and would like to get started in order to reduce the velocity of my .22-250 to minimize the explosive effects it has on foxes and other predators within 100 yds.

I've been predator calling for around 20+ years. The first dozen or so foxes I shot were left with grapefruit size holes using factory 55 grain soft points. Average shots are 100 yards to 30 yards.

I've since gone to a .22 wmr and .17 hmr and am happy with the results on smaller fur bearers. However, I've had a lynx and coyote get away after being hit with the .17 hmr. that no doubt would have been put down with the centerfire.

I'm thinking that my .22-250 with a 55 grain bullet with mv of around 2,800 fps might be enough gun to put down the larger critters, but not so much to blow up the foxes. Realistically, I don't hunt areas requiring shots over 200 yds.

Am I on the right track, and is there a load that you recommend?

Posts: 12 | Location: AK | Registered: 21 January 2016Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Have you tried FMJ bullets; they might let a critter run away though. Starting loads for a 222 go about 2800; look at some of those and realize that your velocities will be less with the larger case capacity. Do not use a really slow powder; use the fastest ones they list. (detonation)
Shoot a critter and see how bad the damage is.

Posts: 17290 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have had great luck with 55gr sierra game king bullets in my 22-250 running at about 3300fps. Minimal pelt damage on coyotes and bobcats..usually an exit hole the size of a dime. Our bobcats are not a whole lot bigger than a fox...but ymmv...

Z

Posts: 503 | Location: Arkansas Delta | Registered: 01 November 2004Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post