Find
Notify
Tools

Help! 6BR is splitting necks
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of reloaderman
posted
I'm new to this 6BR, I bought a nice bench gun from one of my fellow shooters, a gun I myself have shot tight groups ( in the 2's ). Along with the gun came 100 rounds of ammo. After 4 matches I'm down to 54 rounds that have not split the necks! Now I know the brass was old, but..... Is this a problem with the 6BR or is this brass really done? How many reloads can I expect ( I'm neck sizing with a set of Reading dies )???

Shovel ready.....
but hangin' on

Posts: 707 | Location: West Texas,USA | Registered: 20 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Have you annealed the necks? Even when only neck sizing you are working the brass and it will work harden.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ramrod340:
Have you annealed the necks? Even when only neck sizing you are working the brass and it will work harden.

Please explain annealing.

one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
quote:
Please explain annealing

Here is a link to a very good explaination.

http://www.6mmbr.com/annealing.html

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by reloaderman:
I'm new to this 6BR, I bought a nice bench gun from one of my fellow shooters, a gun I myself have shot tight groups ( in the 2's ). Along with the gun came 100 rounds of ammo. After 4 matches I'm down to 54 rounds that have not split the necks! Now I know the brass was old, but..... Is this a problem with the 6BR or is this brass really done? How many reloads can I expect ( I'm neck sizing with a set of Reading dies )???