New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lyman?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Newbie here!! I got a Lyman T mag on the way ...just wondering why I've never seen any picks with the powder measure mounted on the press....?
And anything anyone can tell me about the press thank's,Tom

One of Us
posted Hide Post

one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
The measure usually mounts to the expander/charge die, not the press.
http://www.lymanproducts.com/l...1&cartridge=6&die=20

------------------------------------
The trouble with the Internet is that it's replacing masturbation as a leisure activity. ~Patrick Murray

"Why shouldn`t truth be stranger then fiction?
Fiction after all has to make sense." (Samual Clemens)

"Saepe errans, numquam dubitans --Frequently in error, never in doubt".

Posts: 2535 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 20 January 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
A 7/8" x 14 thread adapter is included with the measure for mounting in one of the turret holes if you don´t want to use Lyman's hollow expander. Or you can mount it on a separate stand.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
wondering why I've never seen any picks with the powder measure mounted on the press....?

I can't answer for those who do but to me it seems awkward, clumsy, to use a measure on any press but a progressive.

My old Lyman 6-hole turret, a Spar-T, was mostly "retired" about 30 years ago when I finally just got a good single stage press. It's good enough for handgun ammo but I dont' load from start to finish with each case even then, that process is too inconsistant and slow for me.

My powder measure has always been mounted on a stand.

Posts: 1615 | Location: South Western North Carolina | Registered: 16 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post