New
Find
Notify
Tools

Case Neck Trimming...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
So I've learned that I'm going to have to trim the necks on my 400 Whelen brass. I have no experience with such a process, but I've read enough to understand how to do it(except for inside reaming). My question is whether I should use a inside the neck reamer or an outside neck trimmer. Also, a recommendation on what trimmer or reamer to buy would be great. I appreciate your help!

Sent from my iPhone

Posts: 665 | Location: Missouri | Registered: 15 June 2014Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
I think you are confusing it a touch. There is the inside reamer. The trimmer simply shortens the OAL. The turner works on the outside. I simply attach the reamer to my forester trimmer. It replaces the pilot. However it is designed for use in a fired case.

If you have a donut on the inside I use a reamer. I use a neck turner to thin the neck to fit in a tight neck chamber. IE Bench rest.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Sorry, yes I meant "turning". Been a long day and I'm beat. What has me confused is the fact that the Quality Cartridge 400 Whelen basic brass has a portion starting at the case mouth extending about 3/8" back that is .0025" thicker(wall thickness) than the rest of what will be the neck of the cartridge once sized. It's hard for me to explain, so I will post a pic of a 400 Whelen dummy round I made up. You can see how the front of the neck is a larger diameter the rear of the neck. Before sizing the basic brass, this thicker portion can only be seen from the inside. Once sized, you can see it on the outside and inside. Hence my dilemma to ream, or turn the neck. I'm just a novice to this whole situation.