New
Find
Notify
Tools

New to relaoding -need help w/.357 Rem Max
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi, I'm new to the site. Seems great. I have a .357 Mag revolver 8 3/8" & a single shot .357 Rem Max. 14". I'm looking for recipes for loads that will use 158 & 180 gr jacketed bullets in each. I'd like to keep the powders the same if possible to keep my components inventory down. Would I be able to use the same primers in both? If responding, I probably will need a bit more detail as I'm new to reloading. Will SP & HP bullets of the same grain react the same? Sorry for all the questions but I'm trying to get off on the rught foot.Thanks for your help.

one of us
posted Hide Post
This isn't intended to be a smartass answer to your questions, but from the sound of them the first thing you need to do is get some reloading manuals and do some reading. A good manual will answer your questions more completely than we can go into online. Most of the powder manufacturers have at least some basic manual online, but they are not as in-depth as the manuals they sell. If you can't afford manuals you might be able to borrow some and do some reading before making any decisions.

There are loads listed for both rounds using the same powder but whether you will get the best performance out of either weapon with the same powder is something that only experimentation will tell.

Nosler lists different primers for the two rounds (small rifle for the Max. and small pistol mags for the Magnum)

Hornady pretty much recommends the same loads for HP and SP bullets of the same grain weight. But again only shooting will determine the best load for a particular bullet.

I know this may not be much help, but it sounds like you need to do a little preparation before you start dumping powder and seating bullets.

Dennis

Posts: 321 | Location: Tulsa, Ok. | Registered: 27 June 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of poletax
posted Hide Post
Hello Tyeoneon,welcome to the madness.