Find
Notify
Tools

LEAD BULLETS- YES or NO??
 Login/Join

Picture of lucy11
posted
Hello,

I’m new to the reloading scene and have a question about reloading lead bullets for 9mm and .45.
I’m strictly putting holes in paper and the occasional steel plate so from a price standpoint I’m thinking lead would be the way to go. My concern is that I’ve been hearing that lead fouls the barrel up pretty bad, too bad to reload and shoot? I’m very diligent with cleaning after each use but would like to hear some options on lead bullets fouling the barrel and just reloading them in general as opposed to FMJ. Any good manufactures?

Thanks
Mike

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Take a look a Berry' Bullets, they'll have what you're looking for.

http://www.berrysmfg.com/

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
lucy11--To begin with why buy lead bullets? Make your own. It is not rocket science as some that cast their own would have you believe. MOST reloading manuals do not include cast data as they are put out by companies that make jacketed bullets. One exception is the Lyman Manual. They make and sell cast bullet equipment thus they include information and data about casting. You will hear many old wives tales about all the bad things cast bullets do to barrels. The folks putting this info out for the most part have never shot them has been my experience. The Lyman manual points out that you don't see shot out .22 rimfire barrels and that is all they shoot (lead bullets). The Lyman manual also describes where two identical 30-06's were shot same number of rounds, one using jacketed and the other cast bullets. When the jacketed barrel was shot out, there was no measurable wear on the lead bullet barrel. You can get into casting fairly cheap and you can spend a bunch, but keeping it cheap doesn't mean you have to sacrifice quality.

Posts: 3811 | Location: san angelo tx | Registered: 18 November 2009Reply With Quote