New
Find
Notify
Tools

Loading confusion(long story)
 Login/Join

<lb404>
posted
I have been loading for over 30 years. Not a novice. Ran into a problem with loading my 375H&H. I have 3 of my own and load for 6 others. a couple of years ago I settled upon a load that worked extremely well in ALL of the above mentioned rifles. That load is Varget 73gr/WW cases/F215M/260 girandole Partition/3.585OAL/2750 f-s. All shoot and extract well. Cases last a long time-I am on my 7-8th reload on the cases. Then along comes my new custom rifle-the one with integral barrel furniture and custom stocked in fine walnut. I load up 20 rounds for this rifle and off to the range I go. Clean fresh bore. First shot gives sticky bolt lift and primers look like the ones shot in the other 375"s flat but not extruded. Slight possible smudging of the case head. Two more produced essentially the same results. Went home and down loaded the round to test for pressure. Loaded 3 each at 70 gr to 73.0 in half gr. increments. 71gr. seems to be good but not as accurate as 72gr. still some pressure signs.

QUESTION
1- Is this a tight chamber and tighter than factory barrel tolerances-Douglas barrel?
2-is this a overload?
3- the throat is more than long enough so no bullet jam problems
4- called Hogdon and talked to the ballistition who said that the load was above the 50,000CUP they recommend (Varget recommended 66-68 gr.)
5-Two loading manuals give a max for varget and a 250gr at 73gr.(Swift/Barnes)
6-Quick load says that this load should yield around 60,000 psi.
7-what is the relationship between CUP and PSI relative to reloading. Many manuals use both systems but not the same system for all of the loads in the same manual
Going to Africa soon would like toi take this rifle and shoot the same ammo that my partners are taking.

one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
Hummm....

I found the useful range for the .375 H&H with bullets between 260 and 270 grains to be: