THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    OCW Method. It looks good but is it dangerous???

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

OCW Method. It looks good but is it dangerous???
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm new to reloading so I can't always tell fact from fiction. One item of interest to me is Green788s OCW theory. The theory sounds very reasonable to me but another member, Hot Core, claimed it was dangerous for beginning reloaders but didn't give specifics as to why. Is this method truly dangerous or is someone just thowing stones? If so, how???

Posts: 1346 | Location: NE | Registered: 03 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I can't see OCW is any more or less dangerous than any other method. Green (dan) does tend to favour pretty hot loadings. But he offers straight forward structured methodical approach to finding them.
Some die-hards seem to resent people becoming followers, but we're a growing band!

Posts: 337 | Location: Devon UK | Registered: 21 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Nebraska:
I'm new to reloading so I can't always tell fact from fiction. One item of interest to me is Green788s OCW theory. The theory sounds very reasonable to me but another member, Hot Core, claimed it was dangerous for beginning reloaders but didn't give specifics as to why. Is this method truly dangerous or is someone just thowing stones? If so, how???

Well it does seem to encourage a reloader to break one rule which is that one should fire at least 3 shots at a given charge weight checking for pressure signs before proceeding to an increment higher if advisable.