Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Headspacing 30-06 question
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to reloading, and I was headspacing my model 700. With Nosler Ballistic Tip 180 grains, my overall maximum length in the chamber came out to be 88.02mm or 3.465 inches. That seems kind of long to me because my store bought Federal Premium measures at 81.27mm and the Hornady Light Mag measures at 81.9mm.

Does this seem too long to anyone else, and how far should I back off to allow for safety?

one of us
Picture of Bill Mc
posted Hide Post
I don't think we're talking about "headspace" Headspace is the distance from the boltface to the chambers shoulder if not a rimmed or belted case.

But perhaps, about "over all cartridge" aka as OAL length. That's measuring from the tip of the bullet to case head.

The length of your magazine might limit this but a better measurement might be to measure to where the bullet contacts the lands (datum line to casehead).

Pushing a bullet into the lands can cause problems.

Back to the still.

Spelling, I don't need no stinkin spelling

The older I get, the better I was.

Posts: 1450 | Location: North Georgia | Registered: 16 December 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Yep, I was wroooong again! I am looking for a reasonable OAL for the 30-06. I lubed up a bullet and worked it in and out of the neck until it would move fairly easily, then lightly seated it in and loaded it into the chamber. After opening and closing the bolt a couple of times I took it back out and measured. I thought I might back off about a tenth of an inch from there and go with it. Is that a bad system?

One of Us
Picture of woods
posted Hide Post
Sometimes the lands of the rifle can grab the bullet and pull it back out of the case neck. There would be no way of telling this with your method.

A better method is to buy a Stoney Point Gauge