New
Find
Notify
Tools

Older New member and very new to AR
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi Folks,Im new to reloading and would appreciate your input to a question. But first tell you know where Im at.

Been following your excellent site for about six months, plowing through your back pages,I registered a month ago. Ive posted a couple of times on subjects within my comfort zone.

I started my reloading apprenticeship by watching a pal who has been reloading (mostly black powder) for a lot of years. On this day he was working a load for his Full Bore Rifle in .243, which he knew I had as well. He offered to let me help,think that was a ploy,I did,and now Im hooked.

The load he put together for the range included ;Berger fmj bullet heads 88gr CCI 200 large rifle primers, Hodgdon H4895 starting at 33gr working up to 36gr in .50gr steps. Settled on the 34gr for best groups and performance ect.

That was 4 months back and now I get to the question.I want to load if possible, a bullet for hunting Deer, that is close to the Norma 100gr sp(that works well in my CZBrno) and an equivalent bullet in fmj that I can try out on the range, where sp bullets are not allowed.

Are there two bullet heads with similar characteristics that I can compare in the two different settings? Ive tried the Hornady Interlock 100gr sp with good groups which could fit the bill for hunting, but when I seat them .030" off the lands the crimp cannelure is about .100" forward of the brass (Noma fire formed).Appreciate your help with this question and a few more in the future. thanks, jc

Posts: 1138 | Registered: 24 September 2011Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by John Chalmers:
...but when I seat them .030" off the lands the crimp cannelure is about .100" forward of the brass