Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading For An M14A2 - SAFE?
 Login/Join

posted
[Smile] I am new to reloading and am starting out reloading for my .22-250 bolt action. However, my plan is to eventually reload 7.62 for my M14A2.

If any of you have visited Fulton Armory’s FAQ section, it is very apparent that they do not condone reloading for military semi-autos. As a matter of fact, they say it is down right dangerous.

I have read their arguments and it seems to center around case resizing and length. I have also searched past discussions on reloading .308 for M1A and am of the opinion that as long as the brass is in good condition, full length resized and trimmed to proper length, reloading should be safe in an M14/M1A.

Can I hear your opinion on this topic and what steps I should take to ensure a save and accurate reload.

Thanks

Art

Posts: 26 | Location: North Georgia | Registered: 28 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
ArtD
Several hundred thousand rounds of reloads are fired by High Power Rifle Shooters every year.
I usually shot 39.5gr. of IMR 3031 with Sierra 168gr. Matchkings in my match M-14. This load shoots good in any 308.

If your filthy rich just buy Federal Match, and leave the brass on the ground for some other poor High-power shooter.

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Art, I've loaded many a round for the M14/M1A with 38.5-42.5 grains of IMR 4895 and 168's, and never had a problem. I have also found that those old service rifles were constructed of the best material and that specifications were strictly adhered to.

You have to wonder if Fulton's copy is true to the original.

[ 08-29-2003, 03:09: Message edited by: packrat ]

Posts: 594 | Location: MT. | Registered: 05 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of hm1996
posted Hide Post
Art: