New
Find
Notify
Tools

7x57 low pressure/velocity loads
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm thinking of doing a rebarrel on my Remington M700 in 270 AI. It's just too much now that I'm back east. I want my brass to last a long time and I don't need much velocity anyway in these woods, so I'm wondering if there's any type of load that would be pretty consistant and not too temperature dependent for deer hunting with long brass life.

I've never used 7x57 before.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I would think about going to heavy cast bullet load at about 1800 fps nice and mild ect. Or if you want a jacket bullet I would just go to the low end of loads in any of the books.

Posts: 19617 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of El Deguello
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by JWK:
I'm thinking of doing a rebarrel on my Remington M700 in 270 AI. It's just too much now that I'm back east. I want my brass to last a long time and I don't need much velocity anyway in these woods, so I'm wondering if there's any type of load that would be pretty consistant and not too temperature dependent for deer hunting with long brass life.

I've never used 7x57 before.

I find 50 grains of IMR 4350 and the 150-grain Nosler BT is accurate, adequate for deer, and generates VERY LOW pressures..... MV is around 2700 FPS from a 22" barrel.

"Bitte, trinks du nicht das Wasser. Dahin haben die Kuhen gesheissen."

Posts: 4386 | Location: New Woodstock, Madison County, Central NY | Registered: 04 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
El Deguello,

I also recommend the 7x57, but my results differ with yours so educate me a little cause you got lots of experience. I always enjoy your posts even though some of your loads seem a little hot to me. What brand of brass do you use for your 7x57 loads?