Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

30-06 Bullets
 Login/Join

posted
Hi I have been reloading for a few years now (30-30). I recently purchased a 30-06 rifle and I want to reload those also. I have the power and casings but no bullets heads. I dont know what bullets will work for the 30-06.

Thanks

One of Us
Picture of Steel Slinger
posted Hide Post
You didn't say what you intended to use the rifle for, so it's hard to say.

I would highly recommend the Barnes TSX, or the CT Ballistic Silvertips if you're going to use it for whitetails. You'll get good accuracy and great terminal results. Those are just my pet bullets though. Really though, anything will shoot decently as long as it is a .30 caliber, and is the right weight for the twist rate of your bbl. Go to manufacturers websites, and read up on their products.

FiSTers... Running is useless.

Posts: 315 | Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas | Registered: 01 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I just started myself.

I like the 125 gr sierra spitzer boat tails myself,behind 45 grains of IMR-3031.

Nice easy to shoot and great target round,but does go a tad high at range 200 yds and above. beer

Welcome to the board

Posts: 27 | Location: Tulsa Ok. | Registered: 13 May 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Greetings & Salutations
You are fortunate to have started your reloading hobbie with the thirty calibre family. You will find that there are .308" diameter bullet available in a multitude of weights for about every purpose which one would use a rifle.
Here are a few suggestions to help you get started.
1 You found this site, YaHoo!
2 Buy more than one reloading book -especially one with pictures.
3 Stick to the suggested load date.
4 Develop good habbits/practices
5 Join the local range/shooting clubs

One of Us
Picture of cal30 1906
posted Hide Post
The 06' shoots well with most .308 diameter bullets. I prefer the 180 grainers most for
everything from deer elk and bear.