New
Find
Notify
Tools

IMR 4350
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
i was talking to the self proclaimed expert at the local gunshop today and i told him that i use imr 4350 and a 129 grn hornady bullet in my cz 550 6.5x55. he told me that 4350 was no good with a bullet that light and that it was possible on a cold day and with a weak primer that the gun could blow up. he also said that my gun has a long throat for a 160 grn bullet(i figured that) and that if my 129 grn bullet had to jump a gap before hitting the rifling then i was going to ruin the barrel because the bullet was slamming into the riflings too hard. i'm no expert at any of this so, even though i suspect that he's a bored old man who likes to BS people, i want to see what you guys on this forum have to say about it. any advice/opinions are appreciated.....bud

Posts: 1213 | Location: new braunfels, tx | Registered: 04 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ForrestB
posted Hide Post
Find a new gunshop.

Posts: 5052 | Location: Muletown | Registered: 07 September 2001Reply With Quote
<reload>
posted
Have shot a 243 with 70 grain bullets using AA4350 and 4831 and have done it cold weather as well as hot and haven't had a problem.Also light bullets in a 257 roberts improved. It works well because it fills the case and it's a slower burning powder and develops less pressure for the velocity it generates. The best thing to do with someone like that is just say thanks for the information and leave it at that. Good luck

One of Us
Picture of ACRecurve
posted Hide Post
Budiceale,

Does he post here? [Big Grin] I never cease to be amazed at some of the expert advice that hangers around at gunshops give out..... [Roll Eyes]

Good Hunting,

Posts: 6711 | Location: Oklahoma, USA | Registered: 14 March 2001Reply With Quote
<bigbelly>
posted