New
Find
Notify
Tools

Case Trimming the 6.5 x 55
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am fairly new to reloading the 6.5 x 55 (I have loaded and tested about 150 rds.), but I have loaded many hundreds of rounds for my 300 and 460 Wea's. What I have noticed is that the 6.5 will require substantially more case length trimming than the other two cartridges. My loads are well within safe limits with velocities matching posted values (Hornady Reloading Manual #4) and no excessive pressure signs- I usually load to the middle velocity load since these have shown themselves to be the most accurate in this rifle. The cartridges are trimmed with Lee Case Length trimmers (for the 460 Wea, a gage for 45/70 is used in conjunction with a dial caliper). For the 6.5 trimming, I have to use a power drill- if I didn't my hands would be sore after about 5 rds. I literally have to trim a couple hundredths off of each cartridge. By comparison, I can trim the 300 within a couple of turns of the trimmer. I trim the 460 to 2.905-2.907" and they must be trimmed again about every other firing with full loads.
The 6.5 x 55 rifle is an M96 from 1917. The brass used is Winchester and Federal. The bullets used have been the Hornady 95gr V-Max and 140 gr A-Max. My question, "Is this problem common to 6.5 x 55 or is something else going wrong?" Has anyone else noticed this problem or is it just me?
Thanks,
Shawn

Posts: 57 | Location: Mesa, AZ. | Registered: 23 May 2002Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
Shawn,

Brass flow is due to several factors. In your case I would imagine the reason for this might be your chamber being slightly over size.

Of course, I could be totally wrong in this assumption. But, while loading for all the rifles we have here, I have found that for the tight chambered match rifles, we do not have to trim as often as for some of teh factory rifles, which have more generous chambers.

------------------
saeed@ emirates.net.ae

www.accuratereloading.com