New
Find
Notify
Tools

7.62 vs. .308
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
OK guys reloading 7.62 vs. .308!! Have a bunch of pulled FN (NATO) 7.62 brass that I'm thinking of reloading. Will trim to length and FL resize (Berden primer so one shot who cares was CHEAP)NOW here is the BIGGY can I load my normal 44 gr of Varget under my 175 SMK or should I reduce the load ?? If I should reduce by how much 10% or ???. I've got a LOT of this brass and might as well use it up!!

Sarge

I was a soldier * I am a soldier * I will always be a soldier
SFC,US Army, Retired
NRA Life
www.snipercountry.com

Posts: 60 | Location: Southern Area 51 | Registered: 27 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I would sacrifice one case (you will soak the primer) and do a case capacity test with water to determine internal capacity. Based on the percent difference in the cases you normally use, reduce the powder charge based on that measurement.

Free men should not be subjected to permits, paperwork and taxation in order to carry any firearm. NRA Benefactor

Posts: 1652 | Location: Deer Park, Texas | Registered: 08 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Case capacity seems to be 3.8cc of water each! This was as close a measurement as I could get.

Sarge

SFC,US Army, Retired
NRA Life
www.snipercountry.com

Posts: 60 | Location: Southern Area 51 | Registered: 27 December 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
Try again with water. Fill both cases to the mouth and wgt them.

------------------------------------
The trouble with the Internet is that it's replacing masturbation as a leisure activity. ~Patrick Murray

"Why shouldn`t truth be stranger then fiction?
Fiction after all has to make sense." (Samual Clemens)

"Saepe errans, numquam dubitans --Frequently in error, never in doubt".

Posts: 2535 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 20 January 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post