THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Just got a 300 Weatherby. Any advice for reloading it?

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Just got a 300 Weatherby. Any advice for reloading it?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Zeke
posted
I just put a Howaby 300 Weatherby Magnumb on Layaway at Wally-World. Wasn't my first choice for a big Magnumb but it was marked down to $299. Just couldn't pass it up.

I have some experience handloading but not for big belted cases. From the manuals I have at home, I should be using slow powders like RL-22 or RL-25. I plan to neck size. I also won't be loading to the max unless it is for real, as opposed to blasting pop-cans and errant hard-drives.

I have Hornady 165gr BT, Hornady 180gr flat-based bullets and Sierra 200gr Game-King BT's on hand. These bullets aren't heavy enough for use on game. I'll be using these for fun and plinking only. For real I will be using Partitons and maybe Accubonds.

Any advice about loading for a 300 Weatherby Magnumb is appreciated. I am wondering if a magnum primer is called for. Some books call for a magnum primer, some don't.

Thanks in Advance
ZM

Posts: 655 | Location: Oregon Monsoon Central | Registered: 06 March 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Pick a load in a book that you like. the bullet weight and how fast you want it to go.Then shoot it and see if your rifle likes the load.
I shoot 180 gr swift ,scirocco and a-frame the load is for both 66 gr 4064 shoots well for me.

Posts: 1461 | Location: maryland / Clayton Delaware | Registered: 16 December 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Zeke--real hard to beat IMR 7828 for the 300 wby. Use magnum primers...preferably fed 215's.