Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Taper crimp question>
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to pistol reloading, and for that matter, this is my first post. I apologize ahead of time.

Loading 9mm, I taper crimped my cartridge to the case mouth specs in my manual. When finished i was able to push bullets into case with my fingers.

Is there a tolerance for crimping cartridges? I am concerned about head spacing on case mouth.

Thanks in advance,

One of Us
posted Hide Post
First, welcome to AR.

I am not sure what the "tolerance" you refer to is or would be for the crimp but lets assume it might be +- 0.00001 radially or something, which would not mean a lot in general reloading. While I dont load the 9mm , they can be a little tricky.

You dont say what press you are using either.

But take a factory 9mm round and maybe get an idea of the case crimp there on the mouth. It may not actaully measure any differently with your caliper or a mic and I dont expect it to.

But reset your crimp die to apply more tension to the case and bullet. Might do one, then go add a 1/8-1/4 turn, check, add a 1/4 turn, check etc until you get the crimp you want. If you bulge or start mashing it then of couse back off. You will feel the resitance on a single stage, and maybe on the progressive too. Take a note of about where the die is after each crimp, then record about where it is when you get the crimp you like.

Make sure you are getting the right COL per the book while you go as well.

If you are using the crimp in the seating die, then think about getting a dedicated crimp die. It generally works better. The Reddings are good, there are others too. Might try the Lee factory crimp as it is not too expensive, migth just be sure it will "taper" before you buy one, but I am betting it will.

Posts: 1440 | Location: Houston, Texas USA | Registered: 16 January 2005Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
D*@n it! Factory ammo. Wishin' I woulda thought of that before I asked.

For the record, RCBS single stage.