Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What to use in my Savage 30-06
 Login/Join

posted
I am brand new to reloading, eager to get my feet wet I am trying to do some research on the best round to load for my Savage 30-06. I use this rifle for all types of big game hunting, for the past few years I have been shooting a 150gr. Rem. BT
I have been told that a Rem. brass,large magnum primer, DuPont 4350 powder and a Swift Sorrocco 150gr. could be the way to go.
I would greatly appreciate any information anyone could provide as to bullet, powder, brass and any and all other tips
Thank you Sincerely
Donnie

[ 10-14-2003, 06:29: Message edited by: Donnie ]

Posts: 1 | Location: Ca. | Registered: 14 October 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Donnie, welcome to the forum and to reloading. I own a Browning '06 BLR. For a general big game load, you couldn't go wrong with Remington or Winchester brass, CCI primers, a charge of IMR 4350 (56.5 gr is my accuracy load), and top it all off with a good 165 gr. bullet such as a Hornady BTSP. This load has worked for me for many years. Good luck and good shooting.

Posts: 193 | Location: Laramie, Wyoming | Registered: 01 October 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
I have two .30-06 loads I find work best for me:

Bullet: Sierra 168 Grain Boat Tail Hollow Point
Powder: 56.6 grains of IMR-4350
Primer: Winchester 8-1/2
Case: Winchester
Firearm: Ruger 77R
Velocity: 2801 FPS @ 15' from muzzle
Accuracy: 5-shot, 200-yard groups of less than 1"

Bullet: Nosler 180 Grain Partition
Powder: 55.0 grains of IMR-4350
Primer: Winchester 8-1/2
Case: Winchester
Firearm: Ruger 77R
Velocity: 2705 FPS @ 15' from muzzle
Accuracy: 5-shot, 200-yard groups of less than 1-1/2"

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post